Bad First Impressions. Don’t Make Them.

You’d think this would be simple. Advice I don’t need to give.

Again, I ask you: Is it the lackadaisical slovenliness of today’s spoiled “it’s all about me” youth? The brattiness of our recent generation of, “what do you mean I’m not perfect” and “spanking will harm his mental growth” offspring?

And again, I remind you that I wear two hats at this company, and I am the contact who deals with all issues company photocopier. So just because I’m sitting here at the front desk watching you be a jerk doesn’t mean it’s not going to have repercussions. And even if your commodity it isn’t my responsibility, be enough of an ass and I’m going to share it with the person whose it is. It will be my pleasure to share your assiness.

So back to the subject of todays flabbergasting of Pious Phone Girl: I sit here stunned as a copier salesman from Caltronics –yes, that’s me naming names– pull his car up ass-crooked across TWO of the three handicapped spots directly in front of our doors (and gigantic glass windows) leave his door standing wide open with rock music pouring out, and attempt to make a cold call.

I ask you, is this a good first impression?

He further makes himself look like an ass by explaining to me, as I’m standing in the door that I had to open for him because we have since locked our doors (you must have an appointment to set foot in here, folks) that he is in the neighborhood because of his account down the street at I’ve-already-forgotten the company name. Honestly, I don’t give a heaping pile of doody who your other customers are. I’m not impressed.

And he walks in with nothing: no brochure, no card, no pricing info. Nada. Has to dig like a goober to find a business card.

My only regret in chucking his business card STRAIGHT into the trash is for the tree that gave up its beauty to print the sucker.

Leave a Reply

